Holy Headbangers! Rattling the Metal Bucket

A big bucket o’ stuff from the metal end of the spectrum today, to help shake loose the remaining aftereffects of our encounter with the Masters of Metal tour last weekend.

Mötorhead hits stores today with a new album, Mötorizer.   It’s the 24th album for this venerable metal trio, led by bassist/head growler Lemmy Kilmister and aided and abetted by mainstays Phil Campbell (guitar) and Mikkey Dee (drums).  Lemmy is 62 years old, but he hasn’t slowed down – if you know anything about Mötorhead, you know their rock is basic, straightforward and in-your-face like a Pittsburgh Steelers lineman.  Mötorizer, energized by tunes like “Rock Out” (an anthem) and “Runaround Man,” is out of control like a Harley on a kindergarten playground.

MP3: “Rock Out” by Mötorhead

MP3: “Runaround Man” by Mötorhead

Black Ice, the first studio album in eight years from AC/DC, goes on sale Oct. 20 exclusively at Wal-Mart, Sam’s Club and the AC/DC website.  No word yet on what extras the package will contain, but it’s likely one bundle will include a DVD with a 1996 show from Madrid.  And a few weeks later, the Scottish-Australian rock unit will mount a world tour, their first since 2001.  We couldn’t get our hands on any downloads, but the AC/DC website has some tantalizing snippets from Black Ice.

Something else to look forward to: this fall, Eagle Records plans to release a star-studded Metal Christmas album featuring Ronnie James Dio, Alice Cooper, Mötorhead meister Lemmy, and ex-Styx-ster Tommy Shaw singing traditional holiday carols.  Guitarists Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath), Steve Lukather (Toto),  Ace Frehley (Kiss), Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top) and Steve Morse (Kansas, Deep Purple) will be among the guest instrumentalists.  Also: the Dio-led version of Black Sabbath gets the box set treatment in The Rules of Hell, featuring the three studio albums and Live Evil, a double-disc live album, completely remastered.

MP3: “Iron Man” (live) by Black Sabbath (from The Rules of Hell/Live Evil)

Fresh from headlining Ozzfest 2008, Metallica unleashes its new album Death Magnetic on Sept. 12.  Produced by Rick Rubin, the album is Metallica’s ninth studio set and the first to feature new bassist Robert Trujillo (Black Label Society, Ozzy Osbourne).  The first single is “The Day That Never Comes.”  You can stream other previews at the Metallica website.  UPDATE: “My Apocalypse” is the second single.

MP3: “The Day That Never Comes” by Metallica

MP3: “My Apocalypse” by Metallica

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: