New Roky Erickson song available

Roky Erickson, foreground, with Okkervill River

You can hear a new song off Roky Erickson’s upcoming album True Love Cast Out All Evil today over at Pitchfork.  The song is called “Goodbye Sweet Dreams” and, like the rest of the record, it is backed by Okkervil River and produced by the band’s Will Sheff.  True Love Cast Out All Evil is Roky’s  first album of new material in 14 years.  The album includes found sound and archival recordings from the time Erickson spent confined at the Rusk State Hospital for the criminally insane and mentally ill in the early 70s.  Anti- Records will release the LP in the United States on April 20, and the UK release will come on June 7 on the Chemikal Underground label.

To hear or download the new song, go to Pitchfork.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Roky Erickson official website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: