Archive for Okkervil River

Review: “True Love Cast Out All Evil,” Roky Erickson w/Okkervil River

Posted in Review with tags , , on April 21, 2010 by 30daysout

Roky Erickson is truly the godfather of psychedelic music – way back in 1966 he went way out with his band the 13th Floor Elevators and their garage-rock classic “You’re Gonna Miss Me.”  After a few albums (including the 1967 classic Easter Everywhere) the band disintegrated as Erickson wound up in Rusk State Hospital, Texas’ repository for the mentally ill.  Whether he was institutionalized because of real mental illness, or because he copped an insanity plea to escape a prison sentence for drug possession isn’t important – the fact is, Erickson emerged from the asylum with permanent damage and an awful lot of demons.

Some of the songs he wrote while in the state hospital show up on the new album True Love Cast Out All Evil, Erickson’s first studio recording in about 15 years.  He’s backed by Austin indie rockers Okkervil River, whose frontman Will Scheff produced this fascinating album.  It’s immediately obvious that Sheff wants to take listeners on a trip inside Roky’s head – the opening “Devotional Number One” may have been a song sung by Erickson and other patients, and it ends by unraveling into a swirl of voices and electronic fuzz, like static on the radio station of sanity.

You won’t find much of the screaming psychedelic rock Erickson’s known for.  Instead, he builds his songs on foundations that include country  (“Birds’d Crash”), jangly folk rock (“Bring Back The Past”) and gospel (“Be and Bring Me Home” and the title tune).  The punk fury of “John Lawman” comes partly from the pointed repetition of a few lines and raging instrumental backing by Okkervil River.  But Roky makes a declaration of renewal and redemption with the naked emotion of the title tune and the next song “Forever.”   His singing is soulful and emotional, perfectly matching both the material and Okkervil’s inspired playing.

Ending on a hopeful note with “God Is Everywhere,” Erickson slams this volume shut like an old hymnal and reclaims his rightful place among the great rockers of all time.  Like Johnny Cash’s brilliant Ain’t No Grave from earlier this year, True Love Cast Out All Evil is a great piece of work from a truly original American artist.

MP3: “Goodbye Sweet Dreams”

Roky Erickson official website

Song of the Day: “You’re Gonna Miss Me”

Posted in News with tags , , on April 20, 2010 by 30daysout

Psychedelic survivor Roky Erickson has teamed up with Austin-based indie rockers Okkervil River to produce a new album, True Love Cast Out All Evil, out today.  Here’s a video of Roky and Okkervil River performing at SXSW, doing the 13th Floor Elevators’ classic “You’re Gonna Miss Me.”

You can stream Roky’s new album at Spinner.

Anti Records official website

Roky Erickson official website

Easter Egg: New Music Sneak Preview

Posted in News with tags , , , , , , , , , on April 3, 2010 by 30daysout

Let’s open up a big ol’ Easter egg of new music, a lot of which was previewed at SXSW in Austin a few weekends ago.  We don’t want to get shut down by the blog police, so you can only stream these tunes … I encourage you to click through to the artists’ individual websites, because there are plenty more surprises and goodies awaiting you there.  So, let’s rock!

Courtney Love is bringing back her band Hole, although she’s the only original member left.  The new album Nobody’s Daughter is due in stores April 26.

“Samantha” by Hole

Former Guns N’ Roses guitarist Slash drops his eponymous debut album April 6 with a slew of guest singers including Ozzy Osbourne, Chris Cornell, Lemmy Kilmister, Kid Rock and many more.  He’s also joined by ex-GNR mates Izzy Stradlin and Duff McKagan … here’s a surprising remake of one of their finest moments:

“Paradise City” by Slash featuring Cypress Hill and Fergie (yes)

Stone Temple Pilots are back, with Scott Weiland (apparently clean and sober) on vocals.  Their new album (I couldn’t find a title) is slated to come out May 25.

“Between The Lines” by Stone Temple Pilots

Sixties psychedelia survivor Roky Erickson has teamed with indie rock wonderboys Okkervil River for the new album True Love Cast Out All Evil, due in stores April 20.

“True Love Cast Out All Evil” by Roky Erickson and Okkervil River

Also out next week is Jakob Dylan‘s newest, Women and Country, produced by T-Bone Burnett and featuring the backing vocals of Kelly Hogan and Neko Case.

“Everybody’s Hurting” by Jakob Dylan

Guitar god Jeff Beck will release his newest album Emotion and Commotion on April 13.  He turns in some rockin’ instrumentals and welcomes guest singers Imelda May, Olivia Safe and Joss Stone.

“I Got A Spell On You” by Jeff Beck featuring Joss Stone

SXSW Followup: Roky Erickson

Posted in SXSW with tags , on March 26, 2010 by 30daysout

We didn’t get to see him this time around, but I heard Roky Erickson (along with Okkervil River) was great at SXSW 2010.  Here’s a video of them performing “Goodbye Sweet Dream” from the new album True Love Cast Out All Evil which comes out April 20.

New Roky Erickson song available

Posted in News with tags , on February 22, 2010 by 30daysout

Roky Erickson, foreground, with Okkervill River

You can hear a new song off Roky Erickson’s upcoming album True Love Cast Out All Evil today over at Pitchfork.  The song is called “Goodbye Sweet Dreams” and, like the rest of the record, it is backed by Okkervil River and produced by the band’s Will Sheff.  True Love Cast Out All Evil is Roky’s  first album of new material in 14 years.  The album includes found sound and archival recordings from the time Erickson spent confined at the Rusk State Hospital for the criminally insane and mentally ill in the early 70s.  Anti- Records will release the LP in the United States on April 20, and the UK release will come on June 7 on the Chemikal Underground label.

To hear or download the new song, go to Pitchfork.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Roky Erickson official website

Summer, Final Edition 2008

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , , , , on August 12, 2008 by 30daysout

Summer’s fading away – so here’s a grab bag of summer, sunshine, beach and just cool songs, some new and some old.  Enjoy!  (Thanks to L.A. correspondent Randy Fuller for some of the songs and mashups you find here.)

MP3: “Summer, Highland Falls” (live) by Billy Joel

MP3: “Constructive Summer” by The Hold Steady

MP3: “Summer Of Pain” by Witch Hats

MP3: “Special Bong Olympics” by Barking Spiders

MP3: “The Inconvenience Of Truth” by Carbon/Silicon

MP3: “Lost Coastlines” by Okkervil River

MP3: “Long Summer Days” by the Moody Blues

MP3: “Sunshine Lies” by Matthew Sweet

MP3: “Sun Is Shining/Sunshine Superman” by MaxwellJump

MP3: “Claire De Lune” by the Tomorrow Men

MP3: “Czar Of The Surf Guitar” by the Illuminoids

MP3: “The Boys Of Summer” by the Ataris

MP3: “Ain’t No Sunshine/Lonely Avenue” (live) by Isaac Hayes

Bonus video: “Help Me, Rhonda” by Al Jardine, Steve Miller and Flea

Texas Music, August Edition

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , , , , on August 11, 2008 by 30daysout

Greetings from the ol’ Lone Star State!  Today let’s take a look at some new music coming out of these parts:

Okkervil River make their home in Austin, despite being named after a Russian short story.  Their newest, The Stand Ins, comes out this September.  “Pop Lie” is an early taste from this indie rock outfit.

The Toadies, from Fort Worth, broke up in 2001 but they’re baaaaaack, with a new album, No Deliverance, a tour and some nice new rock sounds.  Surely you remember the alt-rock hit “Possum Kingdom” …

Continue reading